Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate

Blackgate is the very last Batman game of the unparalleled Arkham series I have played/finished. And I’m really glad I did. It was a lot better than I expected it to be. Somehow the first impression can be that it might be kind of a half-assed effort, but I would have to disagree with this sentiment. The graphics, backgrounds and animations are mostly very well done. Them branching out a little from the typical Arkham formula makes it even more interesting to me. It really makes me wish they would have dared to pull more stunts like this. Who knows what types of Batman games they could have produced. Just imagine Telltale Batman with Arkham Knight level graphics…

There was really only one single thing in this game I honestly hated and that’s the backtracking. There were way too many situations in which one solved mission objective would lead to another one that required running 15 minutes back the way I just came. This game would have needed fast travel so bad. The maps are super-complex too (as far as modern games go) so on top of it all, it can be necessary to search for the correct (or at least shortest) path.

The rest can be pretty satisfying. It’s just another solid Batman adventure. The numerous boss battles play differently and require various tricks for successful completion. It could be more diverse than the boss battles in the bigger Arkham titles. The game also reminded me how sad it is, that Catwoman didn’t get her own Arkham-style game.

I also can’t remember a single bug from my playthrough. This always helps me enjoy a game more.

    Leave a Reply

