Planescape: Torment Enhanced Edition

Funny thing is, after playing Torment, I thought why not go back and play Planescape: Torment again? So I installed it, with all the mods and whatnot, approximately 1 day after I did that, this Enhanced Edition was announced. So I was obviously going to wait for it to come out. GOG even gave a discount to everyone who already had PST in their account…

As if that wasn’t a lucky break, it got even much better, because I only played PST once, like 10 years ago and I’ve forgotten A LOT about it. So there I was, playing this game about an amnesiac, who sometimes has flashbacks, as a sort of amnesiac who had flashbacks about his first playthrough. THIS is probably the ideal way to experience this game!

Story, characters, quests – all totally hold up. I can even say, at this point, this game was way ahead of its time, since there are games now which fail to pull off some elements as good as Torment did it 18 years ago.
I can only criticize the ending and the bit leading up to it. The game starts with enormous amounts of text (which is good because the writing is almost always quite remarkable – better than many current games, not kidding) for everything, so much in fact, that the ending just feels rushed in comparison – it might not have been as noticeable in a lesser game. I really wish it could have been elaborated upon a bit more.

Sure, it’s possible to piece the most important parts together, but again, in comparison with the detailed rest of the game, it’s “short”. It really made me wanna read the book, in hopes of reaching a deeper insight, but of course it’s not really available anymore. So scratch that. A nice moment like the one at the ending of Witcher 2 (a huge/long conversation about everything that happened in the game takes place :D), really would have been welcome here.

The EE itself is rather well done, I mean… full text search for the journal? Hello? It’s like a dream come true! It’s amazing (tab-highlighting is the best!). They introduced several features I was hoping for, all without really taking anything away (but to play it safe, they added options to shut down all the new stuff). It’s without a doubt the best way to experience PST now. It always pains me a little to say this, because I don’t want to undermine all the tremendous work all the modders have done over so many years – it’s beyond the shadow of a doubt their merit as well, that these games are still alive after all these years and yet there are just some things even all the mods couldn’t improve.

I had a single issue with this EE, the game would crash when opening the map screen in several locations (thankfully the game auto-saves with every map transition). This is definitely something I hope they can still fix. I could outright reproduce it in the drowned nations and it happened in inner curst and on the baator map too. In the hive, for example, it never happened, although I used the map there a thousand times. Other than that, this thing seemed to be rock-solid.

GOG Galaxy counted 49,5 hours, while Steam counted 63 hours for my Torment: Tides of Numenera playthrough. Of course these numbers aren’t exact, since I sometimes let them running without actively playing, but obviously they aren’t so far off that I could say Tides of Numenera was shorter (something I heard repeatedly which is why I’m considering this as debunked now).

PS: The thing with the screenshots is true about this game too, I was so immersed, that I forgot all about taking any, which is why I now have none of many interesting areas…

    Leave a Reply

