Young Justice Legacy

While the Batman Arkham games are for everyone, even people who don’t care about Batman, YJL is kind of the opposite. There aren’t any solid reasons for anyone to play this, if they aren’t also into the show.
I’m personally more of a fan of Season 1, simply because Season 2 is 5 years later and lots of stuff happened you know nothing (or at least little) about. It makes it hard to follow all this crazy stuff. YJL however, takes place between the 2 Seasons of the show and shines some light on some minor plot points. I enjoyed that and wish they would have done that a lot more.

What’s so cool about my experience with the game regardless, is that I found out, during playing this, that they are NOW actually doing a Season 3… I was shocked, because when does it actually happen that a show gets a new Season, years after being canceled?!? I guess it’s due to these good news, that it was much easier for me to enjoy the game. It’s one of these weird coincidences.

The games graphics are nothing special and THAT wouldn’t have bothered me at all. The problem with that is, that there’s all kinds of crazy stuff going on. Some people say the FPS in this game are locked to 25, but in my game they were always jumping between 22 and 24. Who configures a game like this?!? There are no options in the game itself and nothing in the accessible config files to change that.
The graphics look and feel like this is an old, early and buggy Unity version maybe (I don’t know which engine it actually is). I read some posts claiming the game would crash a lot, I had trouble with that only once during my entire time with the game, but then it created a bluescreen. The first bluescreen I ever had on my current PC, which I built several months ago. The problem is, when the game does crash, it turns off the Windows cleartype font settings and all fonts look accordingly gruesome. Why the game would do this remains a mystery. Cleartype then has to be enabled manually again.

Overall the game feels a little bit unfinished here and there. Some levels contain crates, which can be opened, but they are all seemingly empty and there is no visual or audio cue that anything happened. I suspect they might contain credits but without the game confirming it in any noticeable way, it’s hard to be sure.

The game contains 16 heroes in total, 4 of them are optional DLC. The heroes aren’t really used in interesting ways. Each team consists out of 3 heroes and the team leader is locked, only the other 2 can be selected. So during all of the missions, only the team leader ever speaks. Everyone else remains mute.
This leads to a lot of missed chances and real disappointments. There are levels in Gotham, but even going there with Batgirl, Robin and Nightwing doesn’t mean anything. It’s the same experience than it is with whomever. The worst moment however was, when the team is supposed to save Dr. Sandsmark and I brought Wonder Girl (Dr. Sandsmark’s daughter). The moment she’s freed, she asks the team who they are, with her daughter standing directly in front of her… :D All I wanted is for her to yell “I’m standing right in front of your face mom!”. Lots of missed chances here, all I’m saying. The strongest parts of this game were, after all, that they had the original voice cast of the show and the soundtrack…

To my knowledge, there is only one single instance in the game, in which an individual skill is actually properly considered. During the Gotham missions, snipers shoot every team member, that’s running around without cover. So the official solution is, to push forklifts towards the snipers until you are close enough for Nightwing to take them down with a batarang. I however had Miss Martian in my team and she can turn invisible, so I thought I’d at least give it a try. To my surprise this actually worked. I had fully expected, that I would get shot just the same and the only way to complete the level would be the official path with pushing the forklifts, but no – thanks to Miss Martian I could skip all that, although the Nightwing sequence was still shown each time, when a sniper was taken out.

The game plays a lot like Knights of the Old Republic or, because of the fighting style, Jade Empire might be an even better comparison. Even the maps look eerily similar

What was entirely unnecessary, was that some of the heroes are only unlocked after finishing the game, but at this point, the motivation to play the same levels again, is… limited. There is lots of unrealized potential here, this game could have been something really solid, the foundation is here, but also the flaws which are hard to overlook. Not everyone will have played this thing while learning that the miracle of a Season 3 just happened. So that’s what I’ll always be remembering about this game. Okay – and the 22-24 FPS. :D Those are unforgettable as well. :D

    Leave a Reply

