Movies that didn’t suck (42)

the-nice-guys-2016

I feel like I’m ruining peoples chances to enjoy this movie the way I did by saying that, because I myself saw it without expecting anything, but The Nice Guys was the best movie I saw in all of 2016. Not kidding. However, it’s not like anyone is reading any of this, so I guess I’m still good.
Now, all I hoped for was some scenes with a bunch of funny characters who were hopefully not too embarrassing/annoying or anything. I didn’t expect much of a plot, let alone one that mattered, but that’s exactly what happened. In fact, I’ve seen “political thrillers” which had less intricate plots. Almost every scene means something and (stuff) a lot of (and) stuff which could be random, isn’t. At the end it all comes together (if one pays attention) and I found it rather impressive. It’s kind of the last type of movie one would expect so much smart writing and yet there it is. The film has a lot of nice little bits which can be easily missed.
Oh, I know Russell Crowe’s character would probably punch me in the face just for saying this, but I really liked the 13 yo daughter, she was supercool – not gonna lie. And I’m not typically a fan of kids in movies. Gosling is outright hilarious in this.
10/10, would enjoy/watch again. :D

    Leave a Reply

