XCOM 2 June Update/Shen’s Last Gift

XCom2_160524_2257262

Another huge patch for XCOM 2 was released, of all the patches so far, this is the one I noticed the least differences with. They got rid of that empty slider in the options though.

XCom2_160701_0116046

Like most other bigger patches, it came along with a DLC, this time the last one from the season pass, Shen’s Last Gift.

XCom2_160702_0256176

I liked the dynamics the battles against the new boss enemies offered in the last DLC a lot, even if some of the armors you got out of it might have looked a little silly. There is no such thing this time. Pretty much all this DLC does, is add robots. While I usually like robots in such settings, I’d call the sparks: a liability.

XCom2_160702_1605593

Even fully leveled, they hardly ever hit anything, which makes me feel like I wasted a spot on the team. Especially late game, I can’t afford it anymore, to bring people who won’t perform well. If other soldiers suck, I can always equip them with a superior scope and/or a superior perception PCS (pretty much everyone in my a-team has a 100 aim or even more). After that treatment every soldier becomes a great shot. Sparks however, can use neither. So what good is my big dumb robot, if it doesn’t hit anything?
I just finished my first campaign with this latest DLC and of course I wouldn’t bring a spark on the last mission. This is why I think the last DLC was much better, because it doesn’t just offer some interesting boss fights, but also supplies the player with some useful items one can keep using throughout the whole game.

XCom2_160702_0323419

So this basically means, that with the end of the one story mission, you are done with this DLC and there aren’t any other gifts it has to offer.

XCom2_160703_1730042

Am I using sparks wrong? Does anyone find them actually useful/prefers them to other soldiers/classes?

  1. 7erminatorX

    15 health 4 armor and NEVER missing, along with the powerful weapons it can wield plus counting as full cover to all adjacent ally’s, and kinetic strike, bombard, hack, intimidate, channeling field, and 14 mobility, my spark js unstoppable.

    PS it doesn’t have to fully heal to go on a mission,
    I think it is the BEST xcom has to offer.

    Like

  2. NEVER missing? In XCOM? Right… :D My Spark had about 70 aim and typically missed like 7 out of 10 shots…

    Like




Leave a Reply

