To The Moon

to the moon

Latest Update: There is a permanent fix now, although e.g. the Steam version has not been updated (I wonder why that is), you’d think they would put out a general update. I tested it, however, and it works, without adding any DEP exceptions. :) Yay!

For quite some time multiple people told me how awesome To The Moon is, so I finally caved when I saw a bundle containing it. A bundle I only bought because To The Moon was included. A bundle I never would have bought otherwise. I’m super cereal.
So I was quite delighted, when I tried to start it and the only reaction I could get out of it, was “RGSS Player has stopped working”. Now there are quite a number of pages on the net, that suggest adding the game’s executable to the DEP exceptions, but that did… nothing. So I started it with admin privileges, tried every compatibility mode… Then I repeated everything on another PC, only to get the same result. One of the PCs has an AMD CPU and GPU, the other has an Intel CPU and an Nvidia GPU, both run Windows 8.1 x64.

I guess this will be a lesson to me to buy so many bundles. :D I’ll certainly remember it the next time I’m tempted to buy one. :) I wonder how many broken games lurk in my Steam library by now…

//Edit

sprsclr
With regards to the “RGSS Has Stopped Working” issue, just wanted to mention that if you’re using Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET), the system wide DEP setting will override that of Windows. In my case, switching the DEP setting in EMET to ‘Application Opt In’ did the trick.

http://steamcommunity.com/app/206440/discussions/0/630800447136351494/#c540740500557953833

Yay! That did it! :D I never would have thought on my own of checking EMET (Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit). Mainly because I hadn’t fully realized it would override other settings like that. Good to know!

The game itself was absolutely amazing (I couldn’t get away from it and finished it in only one session). One of the best game-stories I ever had the pleasure to experience. Fantastic writing, would win at the Oscars. :P It’s one of these rare titles that I will remember permanently (until my brain shuts down because of death or other severe issues, of course). I can only recommend this game to absolutely everyone. Only make sure you have enough tissues on standby. :P Everything else that makes people cry is a joke compared to this. :P

PS: Was BioShock Infinite completely inspired by To The Moon? :P

PPS: Just realized that I haven’t played this yet: “A downloadable minisode was released on December 31, 2013, both as a standalone download and as part of the Steam and GOG.com releases. This episode centers on Dr. Rosalene and Dr. Watts and features a holiday party at their local Sigmund Corp. office”

    Leave a Reply

