Dungeon Siege III

Dungeon Siege III is a mix of dungeon crawling/hack’n’slay with story, like Mass Effect is a mix of 3D shooter-action with RPG elements. Approximately. While I lost interest in a pure hack’n’slay like Torchlight pretty soon (although it wasn’t bad at all) the Dungeon Siege III campaign kept me interested from start to finish. No wonder, considering Obsidian is behind it. They really have that part down like few others. Whoever gets all giddy by just hearing names such as Feargus Urquhart and Chris Avellone, will be in their element here. Not only is the story above average, the game even offers decisions throughout the campaign, which results into a proper epilogue based on those, something usually only seen in RPG blockbusters like Baldur’s Gate or Fallout. Even Dragon Age II didn’t offer this!
The graphics were very noteworthy as well. It was all very appealing. I especially remember the lighting those green torches spread in some dungeons.
My sole beef with the game was, that it never showed the player character in conversations, but that was my main motivation for selecting this super hot Lescanzi witch as my playable character, so I would be confronted with her image all the time. What a bummer! Everything was fully voiced and then there is only this fixed camera position, that always shows the same spot during the entire conversation. Now that I come to think of it, the camera could have been more flexible during normal gameplay too. There were only 2 levels of zoom. Could have been steplessly adjustable. No biggy though. To end this on a positive note, I can’t say I encountered any bugs while finishing the campaign, something Obsidian often isn’t that brilliant in (someone else told me there was a bug with connecting a gamepad, I played using mouse+keyboard). The ending strongly suggests some sort of a sequel, so maybe they have more in store for us gamers (or at least they wanted to keep that door open).

Actual reviews also mention stuff like co-op and so on. :P

  1. 1 Mass Effect 3 « adrift

    […] completely dropped the ball on this. The catalyst (strongly reminds me of the radiant youth from Dungeon Siege 3)? This mythical hogwash was so unnecessary and felt mostly foreign to the rest of the series. There […]

    Like

  2. 2 Icewind Dale II « adrift

    […] to Torment thrown into the series. :) I very much would have liked an epilog here, like Arcanum or Dungeon Siege III had, to reflect the outcome of some of the more interesting optional side quests, it would have […]

    Like

  3. 3 South Park: The Stick of Truth | adrift

    […] also the first Obsidian Entertainment game that didn’t have any noticeable bugs (okay, Dungeon Siege III was also very bug free when I played it). I mean I love their games, all of them, but usually they […]

    Like




Leave a Reply

