Movies that didn’t suck (14)

Observe and Report

I know this is hardly the message the movie tried to transport (if it had any at all), but for me this was all about how far someone should put trust into “security guys” and typical processes in such environments (e.g. the mall in this film). My prejudices were approved just fine. :P

Apart from that, this action/comedy/crime/drama summer-movie really helps clarifying what a candidate shouldn’t say, if he wishes to pass a psychological test:

Why do you wanna become a police officer?

That’s the big question now, isn’t it? I have a dream. Most nights. It starts on a playground. There’s kids, you know – swinging, they are laughing, there are dogs barking, butterflies flapping their little wings… And then you hear a rumbling and over the horizon comes a black cloud and it’s made of cancer and […] and it starts sweeping over the playground and everyone starts screaming and clawing their eyes and pulling at their hair and saying “Help! What do we do?!?” – you know what happens next? Out steps me, wielding the biggest fucking shotgun you’ve ever seen in your life and you know what I do? I blow every fucking thing away! And I am getting god’s work done. And when it’s all over and the dust has settled, the whole world gathers below me and they say “Thank you Ronnie! Thank you for helping, being a great man and doing this for us!”… And you know what I say? You don’t need to thank me, I’m just a guy with a gun. I’m just a cop.

Ronnie Barnhardt (Seth Rogen) in Observe and Report




    Leave a comment

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.